Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks - BRSO

Sir Simon Rattle

Johann Sebastian Bach: »St. Matthew Passion«

Sir Simon Rattle: Bach "Matthäuas-Passion" © BR\Astrid Ackermann


Johann Sebastian Bach
“St. Matthew Passion“, BWV 244


Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Camilla Tilling soprano
Magdalena Kožená mezzo-soprano
Mark Padmore tenor
Andrew Staples tenor
Georg Nigl baritone
Roderick Williams baritone

Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Concert video from November 19, 2021 | 02:46:00

Sir Simon Rattle about Bach’s “St. Matthew Passion”


Before the performance, Sir Simon Rattle spoke with BR-KLASSIK moderator Maximilian Maier about Bach’s “St. Matthew Passion”. “I think if you’re not frightened by the Matthew Passion, you should probably take up another profession.” In addition, Sir Simon recalls his first experience of the Passion as a child and talks about a performance detached from the church year and the Passion season.

More audios/videos

Krzysztof Urbański & Evgeny Kissin
Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 3 | Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10
musica viva: Sir Simon Rattle
Vito Žuraj: »Automatones« | Luciano Berio: »Coro«
Sir Simon Rattle
Joseph Haydn: “The Creation”