Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks - BRSO

Chamber Concert

“Pictures of Sounds” – Music for Octet with pictures from Quint Buchholz
October 2023
8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Max Joseph Saal
Chamber concert
October 2023
6:00 pm
Tutzing, Evangelische Akademie
Chamber concert


Franz Schubert
4 Moments Musicaux, D 780
arranged for Octett from Hans Abrahamsen
Toshio Hosokawa
Franz Schubert
Octet in F Major, D 803


Michael Friedrich violin
Anne Schoenholtz violin
Giovanni Menna viola
Frederike Jehkul-Sadler violoncello
José Sebastião Trigo double bass
Bettina Faiss clarinet
Susanne Sonntag bassoon
Ursula Kepser horn

Information about the programme

Schubert’s Octet, composed in 1824, is a truly singular work: scored for five strings and three winds, it oscillates between the character of a divertimento and that of a profound, highly personal chamber music utterance, and lasts for approximately an hour. It is therefore not surprising that it served as an inspiration for other works using the same instrumentation. Texture by Toshio Hosokawa, one of Japan’s most important contemporary composers, was commissioned by the Philharmonisches Oktett Berlin and written in 2020. And Hans Abrahamsen’s arrangement of Schubert’s Moment musicaux also owes its inspiration to the unique sound of the Octet, D 803. Before, between and after the works, projections of selected pictures by Quint Buchholz, known for his dreamlike, touching book illustrations, will open up additional associative spaces.

Further concerts

Thu, 30 May, 8:00 pm
Munich, Gasteig HP8, Isarphilharmonie
Riccardo Muti © Todd Rosenberg
Riccardo Muti
Works by Haydn, Schubert and Strauss
Wed, 12 Jun, 7:00 pm
Munich, Werksviertel-Mitte, TonHalle
Leif Ove Andsnes © Helge Hansen
Watch This Space | Leif Ove Andsnes & friends
Thu, 13 Jun, 8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Herkulessaal
Franz Welser-Möst © Aoyagi Satoshi
Franz Welser-Möst & Leif Ove Andsnes
Works by Beethoven and Strauss
Thu, 20 Jun, 8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Herkulessaal
Giovanni Antonini © Marco Borggreve
Giovanni Antonini & Maria João Pires
Works by Schubert and Mozart
Mon, 24 Jun, 7:00 pm
Munich, Werksviertel-Mitte, TonHalle
TonHalle im Werksviertel-Mitte © Antonia Schwarz
Watch This Space | Amy Beach - Composer and women's rights activist
Wed, 17 Jul, 7:00 pm
Munich, Werksviertel-Mitte, TonHalle
Michael Volle © Gisela Schenker
Watch This Space | Michael Volle & friends