Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks - BRSO

Chamber Concert

March 2022
8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Max Joseph Saal
Chamber concert
March 2022
6:00 pm
Tutzing, Evangelische Akademie
Chamber concert


Giovanni B. Pergolesi
Salve Regina for Alto and String Quartet in F Minor
Anton Webern
Three pieces for string quartet and singing voice
Franz Schubert
Salve Regina in A major, D 676
Franz Schubert
String Quartet No. 15 in G Major, D 887


Julie Catherine Eggli mezzo-soprano
Münchner Streichquartett
Stephan Hoever violin
Korbinian Altenberger violin
Mathias Schessl viola
Jan Mischlich violoncello

Information about the programme

“Sorrow always – upward glance – celestial dew – recollection”: thus the words that Anton Webern set in his aphoristically short work for soprano and string quartet. They also stand as a motto for this unusual and cleverly assembled programme. The works in the first section come from completely different eras and interlock like meditations – devout, contemplative, ravishingly beautiful, yet pervaded by a “sweet” tone of sorrow. Schubert’s G major Quartet also directs its gaze into unknown dimensions. Few works of chamber music sustain the combination of sorrow and supplication with such existential force and urgency as this unique visionary creation from the year 1826.

Further concerts

Thu, 28 Sep, 8:00 pm
Munich, Gasteig HP8, Isarphilharmonie
Sir Simon Rattle © BR\Peter Meisel
Sir Simon Rattle
Mahler 6
Fri, 13 Oct, 8:00 pm
Munich, Gasteig HP8, Isarphilharmonie
Sir Simon Rattle © BR\Astrid Ackermann
musica viva: Sir Simon Rattle
Works by Žuraj and Berio
Thu, 19 Oct, 8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Herkulessaal
Isabelle Faust © BR\Astrid Ackermann
Maxim Emelyanychev & Isabelle Faust
Works by Fanny Hensel, Johannes Brahms and Robert Schumann
Thu, 2 Nov, 8:00 pm
Munich, Gasteig HP8, Isarphilharmonie
Evgeny Kissin © Felix Broede
Krzysztof Urbański & Evgeny Kissin
Works by Rachmaninov and Shostakovich
Fri, 10 Nov, 8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Herkulessaal
Johannes Kalitzke © BR\Astrid Ackermann
musica viva: Johannes Kalitzke
Works by Lisa Streich, Johannes Kalitzke and Luc Ferrari