Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks - BRSO

Jakub Hrůša & Isabelle Faust

October 2021
8:00 pm
Munich, Gasteig HP8, Isarphilharmonie
Special concert
October 2021
8:00 pm
Munich, Gasteig HP8, Isarphilharmonie
Special concert


Miloslav Kabeláč
The Mystery of Time, op. 31
Benjamin Britten
Violin Concerto in D Minor, op.15
Dmitri Shostakovich
Symphony No. 1 in F Minor, op. 10


Jakub Hrůša conductor
Isabelle Faust violin
Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Concert video

Isabelle Faust © Felix Broede

Information about the programme

The BRSO is giving its début in Gasteig’s Interim Quarter with Jakub Hrůša and the violinist Isabelle Faust, who recently thrilled Munich audiences with her readings of Adámek, Schoenberg, Eötvös and others. Now she will play the Britten concerto of 1939, a work whose symphonic earnestness and luscious violin writing place it among the foremost violin concertos of the 20th century. In addition to the insolent and brilliant First Symphony, an examination piece from the 19-year-old Shostakovich, Jakub Hrůša will introduce us to a composer from his own Czech homeland who suffered the fate of being at the wrong place at the wrong time: Miloslav Kabeláč (1908–1979). Kabeláč was unable to come to terms with the totalitarian regimes under which his country suffered, and has remained a barely heard voice as a result. In its spacious and ingeniously constructed overarching crescendo, The Mystery of Time (1957) has a magnetic power similar to that of Ravel’s Boléro.