Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks - BRSO

Klaus Mäkelä & Frank Peter Zimmermann

October 2021
8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Herkulessaal
Special concert
October 2021
8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Herkulessaal
Special concert


Béla Bartók
Rhapsody for violin and orchestra No. 2, Sz 90
Bohuslav Martinů
Suite concertante for Violin and Orchestra
Gustav Mahler
Symphony No. 4


Klaus Mäkelä conductor
Frank Peter Zimmermann violin
Anna Lucia Richter mezzo-soprano
Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Information about the programme

A programme with three works requiring solo singers is certainly something special – so that Frank Peter Zimmermann has brought along two pieces never heard before in the concerts of the BRSO: Bartók’s roughly ten-minute Rhapsody No. 2 for violin and orchestra (1928) and Martinů’s Suite concertante (1944), a four-movement violin concerto in everything but name. Both works thrive on the tension between original eastern European folk melodies, modern sonic garb and the unique individual styles of their respective creators. A folk inflection of a quite different kind depicts the “heavenly joys” that soprano Anna Lucia Richter invokes in the final movement of Mahler’s Fourth Symphony. But the childlike naivety of this idyll openly displays its fractures, and perhaps no Mahler symphony is as enigmatic as his purportedly “simple” Fourth. Standing at the rostrum is the young Finnish conductor Klaus Mäkelä, now in his second appearance with the BRSO following his début of February 2020.

Further concerts

Thu, 20 Jun, 8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Herkulessaal
Giovanni Antonini © Marco Borggreve
Giovanni Antonini & Maria João Pires
Works by Schubert and Mozart
Mon, 24 Jun, 7:00 pm
Munich, Werksviertel-Mitte, TonHalle
TonHalle im Werksviertel-Mitte © Antonia Schwarz
Watch This Space | Amy Beach - Composer and women's rights activist
Wed, 17 Jul, 7:00 pm
Munich, Werksviertel-Mitte, TonHalle
Michael Volle © Gisela Schenker
Watch This Space | Michael Volle & friends