Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks - BRSO

Pablo Heras-Casado & Anja Petersen

November 2021
8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Herkulessaal
Musica viva


Jüri Reinvere
Vom Sterben der Sterne (commissioned by musica viva, world premiere)
Symphonic Notes for Orchestra (2021)
Arnulf Herrmann
Tour de Trance for orchestra and soprano (commissioned by musica viva, world premiere)


Pablo Heras-Casado conductor
Anja Petersen soprano
Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Information about the programme

Jüri Reinvere is the third leading composer of his native Estonia, alongside Arvo Pärt and Erkki-Sven Tüür. He is also an accomplished concert pianist, lyric poet, journalist and essayist for newspapers in Estonia, Finland, Great Britain and Germany, where he has been living since 2005. Given this cosmopolitan life, it comes as no surprise that his music focuses on theological themes as well as touching on politics, history, and episodes from daily life. Arnulf Herrmann’s newly commissioned Tour de Trance draws inspiration from the verses of poetess and essayist Monika Rinck. His interest in language in all its guises has long stood in the foreground of his music. His special way of handling melody, rhythm and diction poses extraordinary challenges for the singer – challenges that soprano Anja Petersen is happy to confront.

Further concerts

Thu, 20 Jun, 8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Herkulessaal
Giovanni Antonini © Marco Borggreve
Giovanni Antonini & Maria João Pires
Works by Schubert and Mozart
Mon, 24 Jun, 7:00 pm
Munich, Werksviertel-Mitte, TonHalle
TonHalle im Werksviertel-Mitte © Antonia Schwarz
Watch This Space | Amy Beach - Composer and women's rights activist
Wed, 17 Jul, 7:00 pm
Munich, Werksviertel-Mitte, TonHalle
Michael Volle © Gisela Schenker
Watch This Space | Michael Volle & friends