Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks - BRSO

Shiyeon Sung

July 2022
8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Herkulessaal
Musica viva


Isang Yun
Unsuk Chin
“Šu”, Concerto for Sheng and Orchestra
Mark Andre
“…über…”, for Clarinet, Orchestra and live electronic


Shiyeon Sung conductress
Wu Wei Sheng
Jörg Widmann clarinet
Experimentalstudio des SWR Ensemble
Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Information about the programme

“It can sound like electronic music; it can bring forth ghostly tones or even mighty explosions.” Thus the Berlin-based South Korean composer Unsuk Chin describes the sheng, the Chinese mouth organ. šu, her concerto for sheng and orchestra, was written for the virtuoso Wu Wei, who often takes up contemporary music with his instrument. Like Unsuk Chin, Mark Andre knew from the very beginning who would give the world première of his clarinet concerto … über … : his preferred soloist, Jörg Widmann. Widmann went into seclusion with him for weeks, and partly rediscovered his own familiar instrument. But to open the concert the Korean conductor Shiyeon Sung recalls the early avant-garde of her native land. The world première of Réak, given at Donaueschingen in 1966, marked the European breakthrough of Isang Yun. This powerful orchestral piece draws on the harmonic potential of the East-Asian mouth organ, thereby bringing the concert full circle.

Further concerts

Fri, 23 Feb, 8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Herkulessaal
Duncan Ward © Alan Kerr
musica viva: Duncan Ward & Lawrence Power
Works by Ives, Borboudakis, Djordjević and Gubaidulina
Thu, 29 Feb, 8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Herkulessaal
Ivan Fischer © Marco Borggreve
Iván Fischer & Zoltán Fejérvári
Works by Debussy, von Dohnanyi, Satie and Ravel
Thu, 7 Mar, 8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Herkulessaal
Robin Ticciati © Camille Blake
Robin Ticciati & Vilde Frang
Works by Ellington, Strawinsky and Rachmaninow
Fri, 22 Mar, 8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Herkulessaal
Emmanuelle Haim © Marianne Rosenstiehl
Emmanuelle Haïm
Works by Purcell and Händel