Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks - BRSO

Widmann | Reinecke | SWR Experimentalstudio

June 2022
8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Herkulessaal
Musica viva


Mark Andre
iv “Sie fürchteten sich nämlich” (2018-21) für Kontrabaß
Mark Andre
…. selig sind …. für Klarinette und Elektronik (2017/18)


Jörg Widmann clarinet
Frank Reinecke double bass
Experimentalstudio des SWR Ensemble
Michael Acker sound design
Joachim Haas sound design

Information about the programme

“I’m fascinated by the problem of composing intermediate spaces – that is, the spaces that lie often between polarities, however covert, fragile or breathless.” Mark Andre explores the transitions between spirit and matter with a passion and meticulousness second to none. Fixed variables are far less interesting to him than states of flux. He is concerned with experiences that only become possible when borders are crossed. The two solo pieces on this programme arose in close collaboration with two equally gifted performers: the clarinettist Jörg Widmann and the double bass player Frank Reinecke. Both are famous for probing their own mental and physical limits, over and over again. Andre and Reinecke worked on the double-bass piece iv 18 “Sie fürchten sich nämlich” for three years. Reinecke describes the result: “It’s always a question of the ineffable. We’re suddenly very close to a secret, but the closeness doesn’t unveil the secret”. Fear and bliss lie cheek by jowl in the musical world of Mark Andre – and it’s almost always the Bible that opens the gateways to new dimensions.

Further concerts

Tue, 7 May, 7:00 pm
Munich, Werksviertel-Mitte, Technikum
Gammon © Bene Kögl
Watch This Space | BRSO Trio Basso meets Gammon
Tue, 14 May, 7:00 pm
Munich, Werksviertel-Mitte, Technikum
Anton Barakhovsky © BR\Astrid Ackermann
Watch This Space | Anton Barakhovsky and the BRSO academy
Thu, 30 May, 8:00 pm
Munich, Gasteig HP8, Isarphilharmonie
Riccardo Muti © Todd Rosenberg
Riccardo Muti
Works by Haydn, Schubert and Strauss