Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks - BRSO

Yannick Nézet-Séguin & Beatrice Rana

May 2022
7:30 pm
Vienna, Konzerthaus Wien
May 2022
8:00 pm
Hamburg, Elbphilharmonie
May 2022
8:30 pm
Paris, Philharmonie de Paris


Hans Abrahamsen
Vers le Silence
Clara Schumann
Piano Concerto in A Minor, op. 7
Johannes Brahms
Symphony No. 3 in F major, op. 90


Yannick Nézet-Séguin conductor
Beatrice Rana piano
Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Information about the programme

Clara Schumann virtually stopped composing after her marriage, having not only to earn money from concert appearances for her steadily growing family, but also to give her husband space for his own composing. Yet her sole orchestral work fully merits a firm place in the repertoire. Pianist Beatrice Rana has accepted the challenge of the richly chordal yet splendidly melodious solo part. The slow movement (Romanza) opens with a passionate monologue, followed by an intimate tête-à-tête with the cello. The defiantly hymnic finale likewise places its focus on the piano – Clara’s voice. The programme continues with Symphony No. 3 by Johannes Brahms, the second great love in Clara’s life. “What a work! What poetry!” she exclaimed when she first heard it; “a heartbeat, every movement a jewel!” Before the interval we will hear Hans Abrahamsen’s Vers le silence, a work commissioned by several orchestras, including the BRSO. Here the composer takes up the four elements – fire, earth, wind, water – and adds a fifth element fully in keeping with Greek philosophy: transcendent nature. At the helm of the orchestra in this unusually exciting programme is the well-known Canadian conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

Further concerts

Tue, 7 May, 7:00 pm
Munich, Werksviertel-Mitte, Technikum
Gammon © Bene Kögl
Watch This Space | BRSO Trio Basso meets Gammon
Tue, 14 May, 7:00 pm
Munich, Werksviertel-Mitte, Technikum
Anton Barakhovsky © BR\Astrid Ackermann
Watch This Space | Anton Barakhovsky and the BRSO academy
Thu, 30 May, 8:00 pm
Munich, Gasteig HP8, Isarphilharmonie
Riccardo Muti © Todd Rosenberg
Riccardo Muti
Works by Haydn, Schubert and Strauss