Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks - BRSO

Johannes Kalitzke & Ilya Gringolts

October 2022
8:00 pm
Munich, Munich Residence, Herkulessaal
Musica viva


Iannis Xenakis
“Jalons” for 15 Instrumentalists
Milica Djordjevic
“Mit o ptici” for choir and orchestra (world premiere)
commissioned by Bavarian Radio’s musica viva series
Nicolaus Richter de Vroe
Violin concerto (world premiere)
commissioned by Bavarian Radio’s musica viva series, with the kind support of the Freunde des Symphonieorchesters des Bayerischen Rundfunks e.V.


Johannes Kalitzke conductor
Ilya Gringolts violin
Bavarian Radio Chorus
Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Information about the programme

As can only be expected, Nicolaus Richter de Vroe is fully au fait with the violin. After all, this Halle-born composer is a trained violinist and played in the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra for more than 30 years. He wrote his new violin concerto for Ilya Gringolts, a violinist celebrated in the concert hall for his uncompromising and expressive style. No less uncompromising and expressive is Iannis Xenakis’s Jalons (Milestones), a work frequently reminiscent of electro-acoustic music that was written to celebrate the tenth anniversary of Pierre Boulez’s Ensemble Intercontemporain. After the interval we will be treated to Mit o ptici (The Myth of the Birds) by the Serbian composer Milica Djordjević. This large-scale work for chorus and orchestra is a setting of the eponymous ballad by Miroslav Antić, a poet born in what was then Yugoslavia. “This wonderful poem has haunted me for 20 years”, the composer explains. “It tells a very multi-layered, forthright and truly courageous story that reverberates strongly within me.”

Further concerts

Tue, 7 May, 7:00 pm
Munich, Werksviertel-Mitte, Technikum
Gammon © Bene Kögl
Watch This Space | BRSO Trio Basso meets Gammon
Tue, 14 May, 7:00 pm
Munich, Werksviertel-Mitte, Technikum
Anton Barakhovsky © BR\Astrid Ackermann
Watch This Space | Anton Barakhovsky and the BRSO academy
Thu, 30 May, 8:00 pm
Munich, Gasteig HP8, Isarphilharmonie
Riccardo Muti © Todd Rosenberg
Riccardo Muti
Works by Haydn, Schubert and Strauss